Government and Politics

The Government of Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China



A former British colony now administered by the PRC under the "one country, two systems" policy, Hong Kong is constitutionally entitled to a relatively high degree of autonomy, it retains its own legal system, currency, customs, treadty negotiating rights, such as air traffic and aircraft landing rights and immigration laws.


- The Chief Executive

The Chief Executive is the head of the Hong Kong SAR. He responsible for implementing the Basic Law, signing bills and budgets passed by the Legislative Council, promulgating laws, making decisions on government policies and issuing executive orders, he is assisted by the Executive Council in policy-making.


- Principal Officials of the Hong Kong SAR Government

On 24 June 2002, it was announced that the Central People's Government has, on the nomination and recommendation of the Chief Executive, approved the apoointments of Principal officals under the accountability system. The names of the 14 Principal officers appointed were also released on the same date. The current structure of the government showing the roles and Principal Officials can be visiting at The Hong Kong SAR Government's Organization Chart.


- Executive Council

Which is the highest policy-making body in the Hong Kong SAR Government, assist the Chief Executive in policy-making.


- Legislative Council

The 60 members of the Legislative Council comprise 24 members returned by geographical constituencies through direct elections, 30 members returned by functional constituencies representing different sectors of the comunity, and 6 members returned by an Election Committee comprising 800 elected representatives of the community. The Legislative Council exercises the following powers and functions:

    1. To enact, amend or repeal laws in accordance with the provisions of the Basic Law and legal procedures;
    2. To examine and approve budgets introduced by the Government;
    3. To approve taxation and public expenditure;
    4. To receive and debate the policy addresses of the Chief Executive;
    5. To raise questions on the work of the Government;
    6. To debate any issue concerning public interests;
    7. To endorse the appointment and removal of the judges of the Court of Final Appeal and the Chief Judge or the High Court;
    8. To receive and handle complaints from Hong Kong residents;
    9. To consider and act on any motion initiated jointly by one-fourth of all Members of the Legislative Council charging the Chief Executive with serious breach of law or dereliction of duty;
    10. To summon, as required when exercising the above-mentioned powers and functions, persons concerned to testify or give evidence.


- District Councils

There are 18 District Councils with 390 elected members, there are 27 ex officio memebers and 102 appointed members, making a total of 519 District Council members. The District Councils' main functions is to advise the Government on matters affecting the well-being of the people living and working in the districts as well as on the provision and use of public facilities and services within the district. The Government also consults these bodies on a wide rage of issues.


Country name - conventional long form: Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

Country name - conventional short form: Hong Kong

Country name - abbreviation: HK

Dependency status: special administrative region of People's Republic of China

Government type: democracy

National holiday: National Day (Anniversary of the Fouding of the People's Republic of China), 1 October (1949); Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day, 1 July (1997)

Constitution: Basic Law, approved in March 1990 by PRC's National People's Congress

Legal system: based on English common law

Judical branch: Court of Final Appeal in the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

International organization participation: APEC, AsDB, BIS, ICC, ICFTU, IHO, IMF, IMO (associate), IOC, ISO (correspondent), UPU, WCL, WCO, WMO, WToO (associate), WTO